About Us

Our mission is to preserve the history and culture of Southern Alberta. This village portrays the history of agriculture and its components during the first 60 years of the 20th century.

The Coyote Flats Pioneer Village started in 1982 by Murray Burton, Ray Pearce, Norm Richards, Evan Evans, and Duane Dunn; as a hobby club for restoring old farm equipment. They decided to name the club The Prairie Tractor and Engine Club. They started on Duane Dunn’s farm and did annual threshing demonstrations. In 1987, they began leasing the land it is now on from Roelof Heinen and purchased the land in 1990. The museum has grown since then and is now a representation of a pioneer village, showcasing homesteads, shops, and many other buildings used in the early 20th century. In 2009, the museum was recognized as a certified museum by the Alberta Museum Society.

Volunteers and Members

Volunteers are what keep Coyote Flats going! We are always looking for individuals and families who are looking to lend a hand! Whether it’s building maintenance, groundskeeping, or looking after the garden; there is always something that needs doing at Coyote Flats.

If you would like to become more involved in Coyote Flats, memberships are available; $25 individuals and $30 for families. Membership allows you to help plan and put on events as well as get more involved with the projects at the club.

Contact us or drop in for more info.


Coyote Flats has survived through the years through the generosity of the community. If you wish to support Coyote Flats financially, please contact us for more information. Tax receipts are available for donations of a certain amount.

Antique artifacts, machinery, literature and historic item donations are always welcome at Coyote Flats. In order to ensure your donation is right for Coyote Flats, please contact us or drop in to inquire more before donating. All donations should be accompanied by as much documentation of the history and the donor as possible.

Board of Directors and Staff

President: Earl Dunn

Vice President: Hess Barda

Secretary: Shirley Olsen

Treasurer: Irene Roest

Director: Danny McCarthy

Director: Wim Klop

Director: Will Broeska

Director: Tony Kok

Bookkeeper: Sandra Hergenhein